Advisory Board 2014 – 2015

The Humanities Initiative Advisory Board consists of a group of faculty and administrators chosen from among NYU’s many schools that offer a humanities curriculum. Members are appointed by the Provost and serve for a three-year term. The Advisory Board meets several times a semester to discuss yearly programming and to select the winners of the Team-Teaching Stipends and Working Research Groups competitions.

Jane Tylus, (NYU Florence Fall 2014, sabbatical Spring 2015)

Chair, Advisory Board and Faculty Director, The Humanities Initiative;
Professor of Italian Studies, and Comparative Literature, FAS
jt76@nyu.edu

Ulrich Baer, Acting Faculty Director, The Humanities Initiative;

Vice Provost for Faculty, Arts, Humanities & Diversity;
Professor, German Department, FAS
ulrich.baer@nyu.edu

Thomas Augst

Acting Director of Digital Humanities;
Associate Professor, Department of English, FAS
tom.augst@nyu.edu

Eric Banks

Director, New York Institute for the Humanities
eric.banks@nyu.edu

Benoît Bolduc

Associate Professor and Chair
Department of French, FAS
benoit.bolduc@nyu.edu

Joy Connolly

Dean for Humanities
Associate Professor of Classics, FAS
joyc@nyu.edu

J. M. DeLeon

Ph.D Candidate, Department of Performance Studies,
Tisch School of the Arts
jmdeleon@nyu.edu

Stephen Holmes

Professor, Department of Politics, FAS;
Walter E. Meyer Professor of Law
stephen.holmes@nyu.edu

Aisha Khan

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology;
Associated Faculty, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, FAS
aisha.khan@nyu.edu

Perri Klass

Professor and Academic Director
Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute;
Professor of Pediatrics, NYU School of Medicine
perri.klass@nyu.edu

Eric Klinenberg

Director, Institute for Public Knowledge;
Professor, Department of Sociology, FAS
eric.klinenberg@nyu.edu

Christopher Leslie

Lecturer; Co-Director, Science and Technology Studies Program
Polytechnic School of Engineering
chris.leslie@nyu.edu

Gwynneth C. Malin

Director, The Humanities Initiative
gwynneth.malin@nyu.edu

Susan Murray

Associate Professor
Department of Media, Culture, and Communication
Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development
susan.murray@nyu.edu

Michael Stoller

Director of Collections and Research Services
Division of Libraries
michael.stoller@nyu.edu

Diana Taylor

University Professor; Founding Director, Hemispheric Institute;
Professor of Spanish and Portuguese, FAS;
Professor, Performance Studies, Tisch School of the Arts
diana.taylor@nyu.edu

Thelma Thomas

Associate Professor, Institute of Fine Arts
tkt2004@nyu.edu

Jerry Wakefield (on sabbatical 2014-15)

University Professor; Professor of Social Work
Silver School of Social Work
Professor of the Conceptual Foundations of Psychiatry,
NYU School of Medicine
jerome.wakefield@nyu.edu

Barbara Weinstein

Professor and Chair, Department of History, FAS
bw52@nyu.edu

Susanne Wofford

Dean, Gallatin School of Individualized Study;
Associated Faculty, Department of English, FAS
susanne.wofford@nyu.edu

The Humanities Initiative is generously supported by funding from the Office of the Provost at NYU and an endowment from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.