Advisory Board

The Humanities Initiative Advisory Board consists of a group of faculty and administrators chosen from among NYU’s many schools that offer a humanities curriculum. Members are appointed by the Provost and serve for a three-year term. The Advisory Board meets several times a semester to discuss yearly programming and to select the winners of the Team-Teaching Stipends and Working Research Groups competitions.

Jane Tylus

Faculty Director, The Humanities Initiative
Professor of Italian Studies and Comparative Literature, FAS
jt76@nyu.edu

Thomas Augst (on sabbatical 2013-14)

Associate Director, The Humanities Initiative
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Department of English, FAS
tom.augst@nyu.edu

Eric Banks

Director, New York Institute for the Humanities
eb131@nyu.edu

Jamie Berthe

Department of Media, Culture and Communication
Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development
jb2621@nyu.edu

Benoît Bolduc

Associate Professor and Chair
Department of French, FAS
benoit.bolduc@nyu.edu

Joy Connolly

Dean of the Humanities
Professor of Classics, FAS

joyc@nyu.edu

Jonathan Haidt

Professor
Business & Society Program
Leonard N. Stern School of Business
haidt@nyu.edu

Stephen Holmes

Professor and Chair
Department of Politics, FAS
School of Law
stephen.holmes@nyu.edu

Aisha Khan

Associate Professor and Academic Director
Department of Anthropology, FAS
aisha.khan@nyu.edu

Perri Klass

Professor and Director
Arthur L. Carter Institute of Journalism
Professor of Pediatrics, NYU School of Medicine
perri.klass@nyu.edu

Eric Klinenberg

Director, Institute for Public Knowledge
Professor, Department of Sociology, FAS
eric.klinenberg@nyu.edu

Gwynneth Malin

Director, The Humanities Initiative at NYU
gwynneth.malin@nyu.edu

Michael Stoller

Director of Collections and Research Services
Division of Libraries
michael.stoller@nyu.edu

Marita Sturken

Professor
Department of Media, Culture, and Communication
Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development
marita.sturken@nyu.edu

Diana Taylor

University Professor
Founding Director, Hemispheric Institute
Professor of Spanish and Performance Studies, FAS; Tisch School of the Arts
diana.taylor@nyu.edu

Thelma Thomas

Associate Professor
Institute of Fine Arts
tkt2004@nyu.edu

Jerry Wakefield

University Professor
Professor of Social Work, Silver School of Social Work
Professor of the Conceptual Foundations of Psychiatry, NYU School of Medicine
jerome.wakefield@nyu.edu

Barbara Weinstein

Silver Professor; Chair, Department of History, FAS
bw52@nyu.edu

Susanne Wofford

Dean, Gallatin School of Individualized Study
Associated Faculty, Department of English, FAS
susanne.wofford@nyu.edu

The Humanities Initiative is generously supported by funding from the Office of the Provost at NYU and an endowment from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.